MJ’S DEWEY’S 24-HOUR READATHON Hour Twelve Mid-Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now? I just finished Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, and I must say– a snoozefest of a book. But I immediately watched the teaser trailer for the movie and GOT. SO. EXCITED. FOR. IT! 2. How many books have you read so far? Four. 3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the … Continue reading MJ’S DEWEY’S 24-HOUR READATHON Hour Twelve Mid-Event Survey

MJ’s Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon Hour Zero Opening Meme

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Chile! The read-a-thon starts at 9 am here. 2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Grownup by Gillian Flynn and Abhorsen by Garth Nix 3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? My homemade popcorn! 4) Tell us a little something about yourself! This is only … Continue reading MJ’s Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon Hour Zero Opening Meme

Baby, you light up my world: On One Direction and all the things that made me love

I haven’t been reading much. At least, I haven’t been reading books. And I have five, sorry, four reasons for that. The first time I heard about One Direction (or paid attention to what was being said about them, I guess) was on the SRSLY Podcast last October and went to Spotify to hear what they sounded like. And fell head first into the 1D fandom. … Continue reading Baby, you light up my world: On One Direction and all the things that made me love

New year’s irresoluteness and unconstrained enthusiasm

Happy New Year! What was that? Oh, you did notice we haven’t written anything since October? Well, that’s awkward, hypothetical reader/voice of my conscience. I was really hoping to avoid this topic. Seriously, though, I feel like we need to give you, ourselves and our moms a bunch of explanations for our absence, but maybe that’s just my catholic guilt speaking? I’m really hoping it’s unnecessary. … Continue reading New year’s irresoluteness and unconstrained enthusiasm

It’s Monday! What are you reading this week?

In the past week I’ve… read very few things, to be honest. BUT I finished Barbara the Slut and Other People by Lauren Holmes and The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness, and they were both EXTREMELY GOOD. I’m trying to put into words what’s so similar about them. So far I’ve made it to the “similar sensibilities” cliché, which means I’m like … Continue reading It’s Monday! What are you reading this week?

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (no spoilers!)

In Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, the main character, Cath, is trying throughout the novel to finish one of her Simon Snow fanfics before the last book in the series comes out. Simon Snow is the hero of a fictional fantasy book series, in the vein of Harry Potter, and Cath’s story is pretty much a Harry/Draco fanfic. And its title is Carry On, Simon.

As I understand it, Carry On, Rainbow Rowell’s latest novel, is a mix of the fic Cath was writing in Fangirl, the fictional books it was based on and Rainbow Rowell’s take on Chosen Hero narratives. And Harry/Draco fanfiction. The layers, they’ll drown you.

23734628

I’M SO CONFLICTED ABOUT THIS BOOK, THOUGH.

Continue reading “Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (no spoilers!)”

It’s (NOT) Monday! What are you reading this week?

“The fun is over! Let the apathy take over! Never blog again!” is the thought I usually wake up to the first Monday after the readathon. I can’t help it, it’s my lurker soul thinking I’m only allowed to be interactive twice a year. Well, tough luck, lurker soul, this time you won’t win. Not because being a lurker is bad per se, but because … Continue reading It’s (NOT) Monday! What are you reading this week?

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin

When I finished this book, all I managed to write on Goodreads was “flips table review at a later date”. It has been so long since I’ve read a fantasy book this revolutionary in its narration, its content, and its characters. Every time I finished a chapter I would have to take a break from the intensity. I remember, towards the final chapters, just closing the book and blowing my breath out of my mouth to take down the levels of tension and energy in my head.

I got this recommendation from NPR’s Barrie Hardymon on PCHH, and boy am I glad I listened to her.

Continue reading “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N.K. Jemisin”